Announcements‎ > ‎

Fantasic Medal Haul for Team New Ross at Leinster Div 1

posted Jun 12, 2016, 4:50 AM by Amy Allen   [ updated Jun 12, 2016, 9:51 AM ]

22 swimmers for Team New Ross, came away with 69 top 10 finishes, including 28 podium finishes (11 Gold, 11 Silver and 6 Bronze).  A notable haul for a small club, competing against the larger Leinster  clubs of Aerlingus, Trojan, NAC Etc. Evan Bailey (11)  won the award for swimmer of the meet by securing the most points over the 3 day event.  Evan won in the 400 free and 200 IM, he took silver in the 100 and 200 breast and 100 fly.  He also gained bronze in the 100 and the 200 free. 

U12 Level was Sadhbh Bailey (12)  who took home 4 medals from 19 swims, securing significant time improvements in all her events. This was a first Leinster Division 1 outing for Ella Coode(12)  and Jessica Toothill (12) both qualifying for one swim each and performing well.  Ruth Kelly (11) made impressive PB’s in many of her swims.  While Ronan Gibbon (12) made significant gains in his key events.

In the U14 section Min Allen (12) reached two new Division 1 times while  Danielle Colfer (13) and Caoimhe Daly (12) took home  3  Bronze between them as well  as further D 1 times.  Phelim O’Connor(12)  had PB’s  in all his events as did Stuart Vaughan(13) who made finals in 3 of his swims.

Amongst the older swimmers, Caoimhe Connolly tool gold in the 200 fly.  While Deirbhile Cruise had to scratch a number of events due to ill health.  Clodagh Quirke had 10 top 10 finishes with 3 gold and a bronze.  Niamh Fogarty  took  two gold (200 breast and 400 free relay), a sliver and a bronze home.  Lydia Kehoe won 4 gold (Back and IM), 5 silver and 2 bronze.  Beibhinn O’ Connor gained a gold, silver and bronze from her 11 swims.

And from the older boys, Cillian Foley (14) made Division 2 qualification for his 100 free.   Denis Kilbride(14) had 10 top 10 finishes with a gold(1500 free) and a silver(400 free) included.  Jack Coode, took third place in the overall point’s awards also taking silver in the 400 IM.  Cian Foley  had 6 top 10 finishes, winning gold in the 1500 free.  While Eoin Bergin had 6 top ten finishes, with a silver in the  100 fly.

The club were in a position to run three relay teams  Boys 14-15: Stuart Vaughan, Denis Kilbride, Evan Bailey and Cillian Foley .  Girls 14-15:  Min Allen, Sadhbh Bailey, Danielle Colfer and Caoimhe Daly and Girls (17+) Niamh Fogarty, Clodagh Quirke, Lydia Kehoe and Beibhinn O Connor who took Gold in the 400 free and also a second placing in the medley relay.

These 22 swimmers will now go forward to compete at National Division 1(NAC )and Division 2 (Univeristy of Limerick) in July.